Biking at Woodcreek High

07/13/2014 00:49

The summer holidays are here and I can’t wait to meet my cousins again. Tom and I love spending most of our holidays together just cycling around the neighborhood. When not cycling, we usually spend our free time comparing our schools cycling systems and teams.

From what Tom has been telling me, I am considering asking my parents to transfer me to his school. What I love most about his school is the fact that cycling is a very popular sport. In addition to the in-session training, Tom’s school also conducts off-session trainings and clinics.

In future, I would also like to ride my bike competitively not as a sport but as a career and hence in that case, I need to develop my talent as early as possible and if what Tom has been telling me is true, then Woodcreek High School is the perfect place for me.

To get a second opinion, I asked Adam, Tom’s schoolmate about the same issue and he corroborated exactly what my cousin had already told me. He added that the school’s cycling team places a high value on commitment and consistency in training. It also goes an extra mile to cultivate team work and promote integrity and positive attitude among students.

The team is also a member of the Norcal High school Cycling League. To measure the students’ cycling skills, the team competes in league series against over 30 other schools. The team emphasizes on off-road racing which is mostly done through road rides through the rolling countryside.

The sad part of my holiday is seeing Tom take his specialized crosstrail expert bike and leave every morning for his early training routine while I am left alone idling around as his team only allows students from that school. I have already made up my mind to convince my parents to transfer me over to Woodcreek High. Though they will be apprehensive, I have sworn to stand my ground until they give in to my demands.