Lots of Expectations in LaGuardia

06/28/2014 20:07

When I was transferred to LaGuardia high school in New York City, I was a bit worried because being an ardent cyclist; I was not sure whether the school would offer the same cycling infrastructure and training schedule as my former school.

To confirm my fears and to make a bad situation worse, I realized the school did not have any cycling club. In my former school, I used to work out in the morning and in the afternoon and since biking here isn’t a favorite sport, I usually found myself peddling my specialized crosstrail hybrid bike alone in a neighborhood that I knew little about. With time I got bored; here I was, a stranger in a city I was not familiar with, riding only up and down the streets without the challenge of having those sweaty long excursions with fellow riders.

However, my quagmire did not persist for long as someone in the school had already analyzed the situation and had forwarded a proposal to start a biking club. His argument was that the modern lifestyle of many teens, which mostly includes playing video games with limited outdoor exercises, was increasing the risk of obesity among students. He therefore proposed cycling as a form of healthy exercise, which could also form a pool from which we could draw our school’s cycling team.

To begin with, the cycling club is marketing cycling as an enjoyable hobby to lure many students to join. However, with time, it will morph into a professional outfit that organizes cycling competitions. Cycling clubs also help riders to improve their skills by a large degree and I hope my fellow students will take the initiative and join so as to create a group of like-minded hobbyists.

www.youtube.com/watch?v=au0Zjn3eB9k

Though the riding here is not that popular as it is in my former school, the latest developments will greatly improve the situation and hence I am sure things will get better with time.