Midwestern University Kept my Dream Alive

07/21/2014 15:54

My dream is and has always been to ride my bike professionally and compete in the national and international cycling competitions. Every time I see the likes of Tour de France and other such events on the television, I feel that familiar urge to put more effort in my training.

Since when I was young, I realized that it was going to be hard for my parents to afford to take me to college. Therefore, when I was in junior high I worked as hard as I could so as to win a sporting scholarship to a college that would develop my fully talent and provide me with a chance to compete in the major cycling events.

I thus worked as hard as I could both in class and in the field and finally won a scholarship at Midwestern State University. The university has a program that supports promising cyclist not only to pursue their cycling dreams, but also to access quality college education.

Since I got admitted, unless I am not feeling well, I have to wake up every morning, fight off the chilling cold and work out for two hour. This involves spending thirty minutes in the gym and an hour and half cycling either on the field or on the road. The university team, which I am a devoted member, mainly conducts training in the evening but I like going for the morning session to increase my stamina and speed. I came to the university to turn pro so I have no time to slack around.

Previously, I was using a bike that my parents bought me but once I joined the university team, I realized that one needed to have a bike that would augur well with one’s body. After saving some bucks I managed to buy myself a specialized crosstrail hybrid bike whose specialized crosstrail weight was just perfect for my body structure.

Thanks to the university, every day now takes me closer to my dream; it is only a matter of time before I embrace the big stage.