Riding at the Cycling Capitol of the South

06/28/2014 22:40

When it comes to cycling in the South, there is no other place like Brevard College. Situated in an area commonly known as the “Cycling Capitol of the South”, the college team has won a number of accolades in Division two Collegiate Biking Championships. Check out these specialized crosstrails if you want to see what bikes and equipemtn that was used.

The area’s geography is designed in such a way that the biking trails that will challenge even the most experienced and seasoned cyclist. Every type of a biker will be comfortable here; whether you are a mountain biker or a road cyclist, this place will really be awesome for you.

I have cycled around the neighborhood of the college several times since I joined and I must say that the rides can be intense. This area doesn’t limit you in terms of the availability of cycling trails since it has several that are littered with amazing landscapes

I have discovered that many riders here prefer using specialized crosstrail elite bikes but for me, I have developed a special, unbreakable bond with my specialized crosstrail disc 2013 bike and I am not getting rid of it any time soon. Its specifications are just perfect for me.

Some of the trails here include the Pisgah Forest that harbors different trails. One such trail in the forest stretches for over 400 miles. These trails are rocky and slippery and as expected, very steep. Another spectacular riding trail to try out is the DuPont State Recreational forest that offers several options for a biker.

For road fanatics, the Blue Ridge Parkway, which features rolling terrain with broad climbs and descents, is a very fascinating and challenging trail that should be tried out. The views along the Transylvania County roads can be breathtaking, a perfect recipe for a troubled soul. 

The trail is riddled with steep ascents and smooth corners. The waterfalls in the area complete the breathtaking scenery and provide a creative place to go out and spend time alone with your lover, especially if he or she loves cycling.

My cycling team’s riding schedule is such that a different trail is tackled every day. On Wednesdays the group goes for the Parkway Road Ride; the Sycamore Cycles Mountain Bike Ride on Thursday evenings;  the Etowah Group Road on Tuesday evenings and Spin and Grins on Saturday mornings.

The school team participates in a host of local events around the year including the Assault on the Carolina Bicycle Road Race in April; The Swank 65 Mountain Bike Journey in November and the Blue Ridge Adventure Races among others.

I pray to God to land a job in this area once am through with college so that I can continue enjoying my daily rides. If things don’t go as planned, I can only say that I will miss this place so much. The good thing is that there are a number of cycling clubs which I can join here after college unlike most other areas where once you clear school, you either ride alone or with your group of friends.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=G4qgzsaNN7s